Answer the questions based on the following information. A watch dealer incurs an expense of Rs. 150 for producing every watch. He also incurs an additional expenditure of Rs. 30,000, which is independent of the number of watches produced If he is able to sell a watch during the season, he sells it for Rs. 250. If he fails to do so, he has to sell each watch for Rs. 100.
If he produces 1,500 watches, what is the number of watches that he must sell during the season in order to break-even, given that he is able to sell all the watches produced?
Break even implies that cost price is equal to selling price
Hence let's say in season x watches were sold
Cost price will be = $$1500 \times 150 + 30000 = 255000$$
So total selling price = $$250x + (1500 -x) 100 = 255000 $$
Or $$x = 700$$
Create a FREE account and get:
CAT Averages, Ratios & Proportions
CAT Logarithms, Surds & Indices
CAT Functions, Graphs & Statistics
CAT DI Data Change Over Period
CAT Tables With Missing Values
CAT LR Selections With Conditions