List of Indian States & Union Territories Governors in India – Download PDF

Governors in India
Governors in India

List of Indian States & Union Territories Governors in India

In India, there are 28 states and 8 Union Territories, and each state has a Governor who is the state’s chief executive and functions as a representative of the central government. Here’s the list of Governors in India.

List of Governors in India PDF:-

Download Governors in India PDF Here

Cracku 1 Year Pass At Just rs. 499

Check List of Indian Nobel Prize Winners

List of Current Governors in India State-wise

The governor, on the other hand, must act on the advice of the council of ministers, which is led by the chief minister and has de facto executive authority at the state level. One of the most common topics for the General Awareness component of various Government exams held across the country is the list of governors of Indian states and union territories.

The list of Governors of the Indian States and Lieutenant Governors of Indian Union Territories is now available. Their roles and responsibilities, as well as their powers, terms, and other details, are described.

State Current Governor Took Over The Post On First State Governor of Independent India
Karnataka Shri Vajubhai Vala September 1, 2014 Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar
Jharkhand Shrimati Droupadi Murmu May 18, 2015 Prabhat Kumar
Manipur Dr. Najma Heptulla August 21, 2016 B. K. Nehru
Punjab Shri V.P. Singh Badnore August 22, 2016 Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi
Assam Prof. Jagdish Mukhi October 1, 2017 Sir Muhammad Saleh Akbar Hydari
Arunachal Pradesh Brig. (Dr.) B. D. Mishra (Retd.) October 3, 2017 Bhishma Narain Singh
Tamil Nadu Shri Banwarilal Purohit October 6, 2017 Maharaja Shri Sir Krishna Kumarsingji Bhavsingji
Odisha Prof. Ganeshi Lal May 29, 2018 Dr. Kailash Nath Katju
Haryana Shri Satyadeo Narayan Arya August 25, 2018 Shri Dharma Vira
Sikkim Shri Ganga Prasad August 26, 2018 B.B. Lal
Uttarakhand Smt. Baby Rani Maurya August 26, 2018 Surjit Singh Barnala
Gujarat Shri Acharya Dev Vrat July 22, 2019 Mehdi Nawaz Jung
Andhra Pradesh Shri Biswa Bhusan Harichandan July 24, 2019 Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi
Bihar Shri Phagu Chauhan July 29, 2019 Jairamdas Daulatram
Chhattisgarh Sushri Anusuiya Uikey July 29, 2019 D.N. Sahay
Madhya Pradesh Shri Lal Ji Tandon July 29, 2019 Dr. Pattahbhi Sitaramayya
Tripura Shri Ramesh Bais July 29, 2019 B.K. Nehru
Uttar Pradesh Smt. Anandiben Patel July 29, 2019 Sarojini Naidu
West Bengal Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar July 30, 2019 Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari
Nagaland Shri R. N. Ravi August 1, 2019 Vishnu Sahay
Maharashtra Shri Bhagat Singh Koshyari September 5, 2019 Raja Sir Maharaj Singh
Kerala Shri Arif Mohammed Khan September 6, 2019 Burgula Ramakrishna Rao
Telangana Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan September 8, 2019 E.S.L. Narasimhan
Rajasthan Shri Kalraj Mishra September 9, 2019 Raj Pramukh Sawai Sh. Mansingh
Himachal Pradesh Shri Bandaru Dattatraya September 11, 2019 S. Chakravarti
Mizoram Shri P.S. Sreedharan Pillai November 5, 2019 S.P. Mukherjee
Meghalaya Shri Satya Pal Malik April 18, 2020 Braj Kumar Nehru
Goa Shri Bhagat Singh Koshyari (Additional Charge) August 19, 2020 Major General K.P. Candeth

Download SSC CGL Previous Papers PDF

Download SSC CHSL Previous Papers PDF

Governor of India – Role & Responsibilities

  • Each state’s constitutional leader is the governor. Every action taken by the executive power (Chief Minister) of a state is done in the name of the Governor.
  • The Governor and the Lieutenant Governor/Administrator share different tasks as the nominal head of state.
  • The Governor of a State has legislative, judicial, executive, and financial powers.
  • They have the authority to address, summon, disagree with, and dissolve state legislatures.
  • In the event of a constitutional emergency, the Governor of a state takes action on the President’s rule.
  • With the approval of the Election Commission, he can disqualify any member from voting.

The obligations listed above are only a few of the numerous that a Governor and Lieutenant Governor or Administrator must fulfil.

Download Governors in India PDF Here

Take a free SSC CGL Tier-1 mock test

Take a free SSC CHSL Tier-1 mock test

Take a free SSC GD Tier-1 mock test

Lieutenant Governors And Administrators for Union Territories

Lieutenant Governors in Union Territories hold the same position as Governors in other states. The President of India appoints the Lieutenant Governor for a five-year term.

There are 8 Union Territories in India, and the list of Lieutenant Governors and Administrators for these Union Territories is listed below, along with the dates they assumed office:

Union Territory Lieutenant Governor (LG)/ Administrator Took Over the Post on
Puducherry Dr. Kiran Bedi (LG) May 29, 2016
Chandigarh Shri V.P. Singh Badnore (Administrator) August 22, 2016
The Government of NCT of Delhi Shri Anil Baijal (LG) December 31, 2016
Andaman & Nicobar Islands Admiral D.K. Joshi (LG) October 8, 2017
Ladakh Shri Radha Krishna Mathur (LG) October 31, 2019
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu Shri Praful Patel (Administrator) January 26, 2020
Jammu & Kashmir Shri Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor) August 7, 2020
Lakshadweep Shri Praful Patel (Administrator) (Additional Charge) December 5th, 2020

Check List of Important Days & Dates

You can download the list of Chief Justices of India PDF for revision and reference now that you know who held the position of CJI from 1950 to 2021.

Key Points for Governor/Lieutenant Governor/Administrator

In India, there are a few things to be aware of when it comes to the state governor, lieutenant governor, or administrator:

  • The Governor’s post has no fixed term because he serves at the pleasure of the President.
  • A Governor’s monthly pay is Rs. 3.5 lakhs.
  • To become a Governor, you must be a citizen of India, at least 35 years old, not hold any profit-making post, and not be a member of any state or union territory assembly.
  • It is possible for the same Governor to be appointed to more than one state.
  • During his or her tenure, the Governor is entitled to a fixed pension and lives in the state’s Raj Bhavan.
  • Sarojini Naidu was the first woman to be elected as the Governor of an Indian state.

These are a few key points to remember when it comes to the General Awareness component of government exams.

Here the list of High Courts in India PDF & the list of Prime Ministers of India from 1947 to 2021 PDF with their tenures is very useful to you.

Hope this information will be useful for you in the Government Job Exam Preparation. Stay tuned for more updates about exams.

Join Exam Preparation Telegram Group

Highly Rated GK App


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here