List of High Courts in India – Download PDF

List of High Courts in India
List of High Courts in India

List of High Courts in India – Download PDF

In India, there are a total of 25 high courts. The following is a list of all state and union territory High Courts, organised by year.

A state’s highest legal authority is the High Court. Article 214 states that each state in India must have a High Court. However, Article 231 notes that a general High Court may exist for two or three states or for two or more states and a union territory.

Government Job Aspirants & UPSC Exam Preparation should be aware of the number of High Courts in India. In India, there are 25 High Courts, with six holding jurisdiction over more than one State/UT. Among the Union Territories, Delhi has its own High Court. Each High Court shall be composed of a Chief Justice and such other Judges as the President of India can select.

List of High Courts in India PDF

Cracku 1 Year Pass At Just rs. 499

List of Total Number of High Courts in India

India’s High Courts: The High Court’s composition Per High Court has a Chief Justice and other judges who are named by the President.
The number of judges on the High Courts is not set. It differs from one court to the next and from one state to the next.

List of High Courts in India
Name Year Territorial


Kolkata 1862 West Bengal, Andaman & Nicobar Islands Kolkata ( Bench of port Blair)
Bombay 1862 Maharashtra, Dadar, & Nagar Haveli. Goa, Daman Diu Mumbai (Bench at Panaji, Aurangabad and Nagpur)
Chennai 1862 Tamil Nadu & Pondicherry Chennai (Bench at Madurai)
Allahabad 1866 Uttar Pradesh Allahabad (Bench at Lucknow)
Karnataka 1884 Karnataka Bengaluru (Bench at Dharwad and Gulbarga)
Patna 1916 Bihar Patna
Punjab & Haryana 1947 Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh Chandigarh
Guwahati 1948 Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh Guwahati (Bench at Kohima, Aizawl and Itanagar
Orissa 1948 Orissa Cuttack
Rajasthan 1949 Rajasthan Jodhpur ( Bench – Jaipur)
Madhya Pradesh 1956 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur (Bench –Indore , Gwalior)
Kerala 1958 Kerala & Lakshadweep Ernakulam
Gujarat 1960 Gujarat Ahmedabad
Delhi 1966 Delhi Delhi
Himachal Pradesh 1966 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
Sikkim 1975 Sikkim Gangtok
Chhattisgarh 2000 Chhattisgarh Bilaspur
Uttarakhand 2000 Uttarakhand Nainital
Jharkhand 2000 Jharkhand Ranchi
Tripura 2013 Tripura Agartala
Manipur 2013 Manipur Imphal
Meghalaya 2013 Meghalaya Shillong
Andhra Pradesh 2019 Andhra Pradesh Amravati
Telangana 2019 Telangana Hyderabad
Jammu and Kashmir


2019 Jammu and Kashmir


Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh

(Note: The Jammu and Kashmir High Court was created in 1928.

A common high court has been created after the partition of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories)


List of High Courts in India:- 

Download PDF Here

Qualifications and Tenure

  • An individual shall not be eligible for election as a High Court Judge unless – He should be a citizen of India & should have held a judicial office in the territory of India for ten years & He should have atleast ten years of experience as an advocate in one or more High Courts.

Join Exam Preparation Telegram Group

Highly Rated GK App


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here