List Of Vice-presidents Of India 2018 PDF

 List Of Vice-presidents Of India 2018 PDF.
 List Of Vice-presidents Of India 2018 PDF.

   Download the List Of Vice-presidents Of India 2018 PDF. This is the Complete list of Vice-Presidents very useful for UPSC, BANKING, RPF & SSC EXAMS & all competitive exams.

Download the list of Vice-Presidents Of India 2018 PDF

All Banking/SSC/RRB Content @ Rs. 199

Download Daily & Monthly Current affairs quiz PDF

Download all General Knowledge Questions & Answers PDF

Download Current Affairs Questions & Answers PDF

Download General Science Notes And Q&A PDF

 List Of Vice-presidents Of India 2018 PDF: 

    The Vice-President of India is the second highest constitutional office. According to Article 65 of the Constitution, whenever there is a contingency because of the resignation, removal, death or the inability of the President to discharge his functions, the Vice-President discharges the functions of the President . He is also the ex Officio chairperson of the Rajya Sabha. The Vice President is elected by the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote via a secret ballot conducted by the Election Commission Of India. Once elected the Vice President continues in office for a five-year term, but can continue in office irrespective of the expiry of the term, until a successor assumes office. The Vice President can be removed by a resolution passed by an effective majority in the Rajya Sabha.

1.Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan is the first Vice- President Of India.

2.Venkaiah Naidu is the present vice-president starting his term from August 2017.


No Name
Took office Left office President(s) Candidature
1 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
13 May 1952 12 May 1962 Rajendra Prasad Independent
2 Zakir Husain
13 May 1962 12 May 1967 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Independent
3 Varahagiri Venkatagiri
13 May 1967 3 May 1969 Zakir Husain Independent
4 Gopal Swarup Pathak
31 August 1969 30 August 1974 Varahagiri Venkatagiri(1969–1974)

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1974)

5 Basappa Danappa Jatti
31 August 1974 30 August 1979 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1974–1977) 

Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy(1977–1979)

Indian National Congress
6 Mohammad Hidyatullah 
31 August 1979 30 August 1984 Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy(1979–1982) 

Giani Zail Singh (1982–1984)

7 Ramaswamy Venkataraman 
31 August 1984 24 July 1987 Giani Zail Singh Indian National Congress
8 Shankar Dayal Sharma
3 September 1987 24 July 1992 Ramaswamy Venkataraman  Indian National Congress
9 Kocheril Rama Narayanan
21 August 1992 24 July 1997 Shankar Dayal Sharma Indian National Congress
10 Krishan Kant (1927–2002) 21 August 1997 27 July 2002 Kocheril Rama Narayanan(1997–2002)

A.P.J.Abdul Kalam (2002)

Janata Dal
11 Bhairon Singh Sekhawat
19 August 2002 21 July 2007 A.P.J.Abdul Kalam Bharatiya Janata Party
12 Mohammad Hamid Ansari
11 August 2007 11 August 2017 Prathibha Patil(2007–2012)

Pranab Mukherjee(2012–2017)

Ram Nath Kovind (2017)

Indian National Congress
13 Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu 
11 August 2017 Incumbent Ram Nath Kovind Bharatiya Janata Party

IBPS Clerk Previous papers (download pdf)

Download Current Affairs App here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here