List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners PDF

List Of The Bharat Award Winners PDF
List Of The Bharat Award Winners PDF

Download the List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners PDF. This is the Complete list of Bharat Ratna Award Winners names very useful for UPSC, BANKING & SSC EXAMS useful for all competitive exams.

Bharat Ratna Award Winners List PDF:

Download the list of Bharat Ratna Award Winners PDF

All Banking/SSC/RRB Content @ Rs. 99

Download Daily & Monthly Current affairs quiz PDF

Download all General Knowledge Questions & Answers PDF

Download Current Affairs Questions & Answers PDF

Download General Science Notes And Q&A PDF

Bharat Ratna Award Winners List 2018, 2017, 2016:

The Bharat Ratna Award was last conferred in 2015. In 2018, 2017 and 2016 this award was not presented to anyone.

What is Bharat Ratna


  • The Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the Republic of India.
  • Instituted in 1954, the award is conferred “in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order”, in the arts, literature, science, and public services, any field of human endeavor.
  • The recommendations for the Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President, with a maximum of three nominees being awarded per year.
  • Recipients receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a peepal-leaf–shaped medallion; there is no monetary grant associated with the award.
  • The first recipients of the Bharat Ratna were politician C. Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and scientist C. V. Raman, who were honoured in 1954.
  • Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (Pakistan) and Nelson Mandela (South Africa) are the only two non-indian citizens to have received the Bharat Ratna Award. Mother Teresa born in Skopje (now the capital of the Republic of Macedonia) and she got Indian Citizenship.
  • On 24 December 2014, the Indian government announced the award to independence activist Madan Mohan Malaviya (posthumously) and former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee for the year 2015. (After that no one has been awarded Bharat Ratna)

Bharat Ratna Awardees List:

Name Birth / death Awar- ded Notes State / Country/Birthplace
1. Chakravarti Rajgopalachari 1878–1972 1954 Independence activist, last Governor-General TamilNadu
2. C. V. Raman 1888–1970 1954 Physicist TamilNadu
3. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 1888–1975 1954 Philosopher, second President Andhra Pradesh
4. Bhagwan Das 1869–1958 1955 Independence activist, author Uttar Pradesh
5. Mokshagundam Visvesvarayya 1861–1962 1955 Civil engineer, Diwan of Mysore Karnataka
6. Jawaharlal Nehru 1889–1964 1955 Independence activist, author, first Prime Minister Uttar Pradesh
7. Govind Ballabh Pant 1887–1961 1957 Independence activist, Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Home Minister Uttar Pradesh
8. Dhondo Keshav Karve 1858–1962 1958 Educator, social reformer Maharashtra
9. Bidhan Chandra Roy 1882–1962 1961 Physician, Chief Minister of West Bengal West Bengal
10. Purushottam Das Tandon 1882–1962 1961 Independence activist, educator Uttar Pradesh
11. Rajendra Prasad 1884-1963 1962 Independence activist, jurist, first President Bihar
12. Zakir Hussain 1897–1969 1963 Scholar, third President Andhra Pradesh
13. Pandurang Vaman Kane 1880–1972 1963 Indologist and Sanskrit scholar Maharashtra
14. Lal Bahadur Shastri 1904–1966 1966 Posthumous, independence activist, second Prime Minister Uttar Pradesh
15. Indira Gandhi 1917–1984 1971 Third Prime Minister Uttar Pradesh
16. V. V. Giri 1894–1980 1975 Trade unionist and fourth President orissa
17. K. Kamaraj 1903–1975 1976 Posthumous, independence activist, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu State TamilNadu
18. Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu (Mother Teresa of Calcutta) 1910–1997 1980 Catholic nun, founder of the Missionaries of Charity West Bengal / Albania
19. Vinoba Bhave 1895–1982 1983 Posthumous, social reformer, independence activist Maharashtra
20. Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan 1890–1988 1987 First non-citizen, independence activist Pakistan
21. M. G. Ramachandran 1917–1987 1988 Posthumous, film actor, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu TamilNadu
22. B. R. Ambedkar 1891–1956 1990 Posthumous, chief architect of the Indian Constitution, politician, economist, and scholar Madhya Pradesh
23. Nelson Mandela b. 1918 1990 Second non-citizen and first non-Indian recipient, Leader of the Anti-Apartheid movement south Africa
24. Rajiv Gandhi 1944–1991 1991 Posthumous, Sixth Prime Minister New Delhi
25. Vallabhbhai Patel 1875–1950 1991 Posthumous, independence activist, first Home Minister Maharashtra
26. Morarji Desai 1896–1995 1991 Independence activist, fourth Prime Minister New Delhi
27. Abul Kalam Azad 1888–1958 1992 Posthumous, independence activist, first Minister of Education Saudi Arabia
28. J. R. D. Tata 1904–1993 1992 Industrialist and philanthropist France
29. Satyajit Ray 1922–1992 1992 Bengali filmmaker west Bengal
30. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam b. 1931 1997 Aeronautical Engineer,11th President of India TamilNadu
31. Gulzarilal Nanda 1898–1998 1997 Independence activist, interim Prime Minister New Delhi
32. Aruna Asaf Ali 1908–1996 1997 Posthumous, independence activist Punjab
33. M. S. Subbulakshmi 1916–2004 1998 Carnatic classical singer TamilNadu
34. Chidambaram Subramaniam 1910–2000 1998 Independence activist, Minister of Agriculture TamilNadu
35. Jayaprakash Narayan 1902–1979 1999 Posthumous, independence activist and politician Bihar
36. Pandit Ravi Shankar 1920-2012 1999 Sitar player Uttar Pradesh
37. Amartya Sen b. 1933 1999 Economist, Nobel Laureate West Bengal
38. Gopinath Bordoloi 1890–1950 1999 Posthumous, independence activist, Chief Minister of Assam Assam
39. Lata Mangeshkar b. 1929 2001 Playback singer Madhya Pradesh
40. Ustad Bismillah Khan 1916–2006 2001 Hindustani classical shehnai player Uttar Pradesh
41. Pandit Bhimsen Joshi 1922–2011 2008 Hindustani classical singer Karnataka
42. C.N.R.Rao 1934- 2014 Chemist & Professor Karnataka
43. Sachin Tendulkar 1973- 2014 Cricket player Maharashtra
44. Madan Mohan Malviya 1861-1946 2015 Scholar & Educational Reformer Uttar Pradesh
45. Atal Bihari Vajpayee 1924-2018 2015 Former Prime Minister, Parliamentarian for over 4 decades Madhya Pradesh

Foreign Recipients of Bharat Ratna:

Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan        1987

Nelson Mandela                     1990

Posthumously Awardees of Bharat Ratna:

Lal Bahadur Shastri              1966

K. Kamaraj                          1976

Vinoba Bhave                       1983

M. G. Ramachandran             1988

B. R. Ambedkar                    1990

Rajiv Gandhi                       1991

Vallabhbhai Patel                 1991

Abul Kalam Azad                 1992

Aruna Asaf Ali                     1997

Jayaprakash Narayan           1999

Gopinath Bordoloi                1999

Madan Mohan Malviya          2015

IBPS Clerk Previous papers (download pdf)

Download Current Affairs App here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here